About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
How to make grid on the terrain just like in World Editor
Author Message
Xerios Offline
Member

Post: #1
How to make grid on the terrain just like in World Editor
I was wondering how I'm supposed to add a secondary grid texture to an existing terrain ( loaded from .world file )

I'm trying to place a grid on the terrain
something similar to the one in the World Editor when you're in "path editing mode"

Thanks grin
08-22-2009 01:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
Re: How to make grid on the terrain just like in World Editor
I'll add this kind of functionality soon (because it will require heightmap access for faster rendering)

but you can use Physics.ray to get the heightmap position and draw quads using VI (vertex index buffer) after calling "Renderer(Render);"
08-22-2009 11:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rodrigo Offline
Member

Post: #3
Re: How to make grid on the terrain just like in World Editor
I have an similar problem, but i want an hexagonal grid.
how to do that?
09-02-2009 08:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AndrewBGS Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: How to make grid on the terrain just like in World Editor
I still didn't get the answer to the simple square grid problem;
Can't I somehow display the grid without adding an extra texture? (heightmap isn't a problem for me, I want this in a perfectly flat world)
09-04-2013 08:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Fex Offline
Gold Supporter

Post: #5
RE: How to make grid on the terrain just like in World Editor
Here is how I draw a grid over the terrain, it is not very efficient performance wise. Call DrawGrid() in RM_BLEND mode. If you want to make it look more like the world editor try playing with color (use transparency) and width of Edge.draw.

Code:
void DrawGrid()
{
  D.alpha(ALPHA_BLEND_DEC);
  Int draw_distance = 30;
  Flt height_above_terrain = 0.1; // meters the grid is placed above the terrain, this helps with clipping on steep areas
  
  RectI  ah = RectI(VecI2(-draw_distance, -draw_distance), VecI2(draw_distance, draw_distance)); // area heightmap
  for(int hy=ah.min.y; hy<=ah.max.y; hy++) // iterate area heightmap
  for(int hx=ah.min.x; hx<=ah.max.x; hx++)
  {
      Vec pos =Vec(Floor(Plr.pos()));
      pos = Vec(pos.x, 0, pos.z); // remove the hieght value, we will set that from the heightmap, not from the player
      
      Quad Q;
      Q.set(pos + Vec(hx, Game.World.hmHeight(pos.xz()+Vec2(hx, hy))+height_above_terrain, hy), pos + Vec(hx+1, Game.World.hmHeight(pos.xz()+Vec2(hx+1, hy))+height_above_terrain, hy), pos + Vec(hx, Game.World.hmHeight(pos.xz()+Vec2(hx, hy+1))+height_above_terrain, hy+1), pos + Vec(hx+1, Game.World.hmHeight(pos.xz()+Vec2(hx+1, hy+1))+height_above_terrain, hy+1));
      
      if(Dist(Plr.pos(), Q.center()) < 10)
      {
         Edge(Q.p[3],Q.p[1]).draw(GREEN);
         Edge(Q.p[2],Q.p[0]).draw(GREEN);
         Edge(Q.p[2],Q.p[3]).draw(GREEN);
         Edge(Q.p[0],Q.p[1]).draw(GREEN);
      }
      else
      {
         Edge(Q.p[3],Q.p[1]).draw(RED);
         Edge(Q.p[2],Q.p[0]).draw(RED);
         Edge(Q.p[2],Q.p[3]).draw(RED);
         Edge(Q.p[0],Q.p[1]).draw(RED);
      }  
   }
}

[Image: gridlines_zps5e2c65ad.png]
12-21-2013 05:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
candam Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: How to make grid on the terrain just like in World Editor
(12-21-2013 05:27 PM)Fex Wrote:  Here is how I draw a grid over the terrain, it is not very efficient performance wise. Call DrawGrid() in RM_BLEND mode. If you want to make it look more like the world editor try playing with color (use transparency) and width of Edge.draw.

Code:
void DrawGrid()
{
  D.alpha(ALPHA_BLEND_DEC);
  Int draw_distance = 30;
  Flt height_above_terrain = 0.1; // meters the grid is placed above the terrain, this helps with clipping on steep areas
  
  RectI  ah = RectI(VecI2(-draw_distance, -draw_distance), VecI2(draw_distance, draw_distance)); // area heightmap
  for(int hy=ah.min.y; hy<=ah.max.y; hy++) // iterate area heightmap
  for(int hx=ah.min.x; hx<=ah.max.x; hx++)
  {
      Vec pos =Vec(Floor(Plr.pos()));
      pos = Vec(pos.x, 0, pos.z); // remove the hieght value, we will set that from the heightmap, not from the player
      
      Quad Q;
      Q.set(pos + Vec(hx, Game.World.hmHeight(pos.xz()+Vec2(hx, hy))+height_above_terrain, hy), pos + Vec(hx+1, Game.World.hmHeight(pos.xz()+Vec2(hx+1, hy))+height_above_terrain, hy), pos + Vec(hx, Game.World.hmHeight(pos.xz()+Vec2(hx, hy+1))+height_above_terrain, hy+1), pos + Vec(hx+1, Game.World.hmHeight(pos.xz()+Vec2(hx+1, hy+1))+height_above_terrain, hy+1));
      
      if(Dist(Plr.pos(), Q.center()) < 10)
      {
         Edge(Q.p[3],Q.p[1]).draw(GREEN);
         Edge(Q.p[2],Q.p[0]).draw(GREEN);
         Edge(Q.p[2],Q.p[3]).draw(GREEN);
         Edge(Q.p[0],Q.p[1]).draw(GREEN);
      }
      else
      {
         Edge(Q.p[3],Q.p[1]).draw(RED);
         Edge(Q.p[2],Q.p[0]).draw(RED);
         Edge(Q.p[2],Q.p[3]).draw(RED);
         Edge(Q.p[0],Q.p[1]).draw(RED);
      }  
   }
}

[Image: gridlines_zps5e2c65ad.png]

smile

This topic was years ago but I like the sense of helping others

Thank you for helping people bro smile
12-21-2013 08:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply