About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
Selective edge detection
Author Message
Axalon Offline
Member

Post: #1
Selective edge detection
Is there any way to exclude certain objects from being outlined while the rest are?
04-18-2010 02:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: Selective edge detection
you can use 'drawOutline' only on desired objects
04-18-2010 04:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Axalon Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Selective edge detection
Now when would I call that, if, say, I wanted all my Statics to have an outline? I tried putting in

FREPA(Statics)
{
Statics[i].drawOutline();
}

within Draw() and Update(), but it didn't work.
(This post was last modified: 04-19-2010 12:52 AM by Axalon.)
04-19-2010 12:48 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: Selective edge detection
there's tutorial for drawOutline, you need to extend Obj::drawOutline, call there Mesh::drawoutline
and inside drawPrepare return the bit for RM_OUTLINE to request the mode
check comments on methods
04-19-2010 05:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Axalon Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Selective edge detection
All right, got the outline to show, now, is there a way to get it to draw black? It seems to treat black as transparent.

EDIT: Worked around by using a really dark grey.
(This post was last modified: 04-19-2010 08:32 AM by Axalon.)
04-19-2010 08:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: Selective edge detection
are you setting alpha to 1.0 or 255?
04-19-2010 08:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Axalon Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: Selective edge detection
As 255.

Also, is there a way to make the outline thicker? 1px is hard to see
04-19-2010 07:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #8
RE: Selective edge detection
I've checked the issue and fixed it, black will work in next release
but for thicker outline - I won't be working on this anytime soon
04-19-2010 07:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Driklyn Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: Selective edge detection
Just started using drawOutline() yesterday and I have to agree that 1px is too small. It would be nice if the line was a little bit thicker, like 3px, with anti-aliasing as well. Just wanted to show support for this issue.
05-02-2010 10:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
b1s Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: Selective edge detection
how about maybe adding some properties to the highlight function?
Maybe that it could change the materials settings or something.

Not that it would exactly help with the outlining but.. yeah.. grin
(This post was last modified: 05-02-2010 10:22 PM by b1s.)
05-02-2010 10:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply