About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
extended chr stairs
Author Message
b1s Offline
Member

Post: #1
extended chr stairs
our enemy characters which use chr as their base.
for some reason are able to climb stairs up but not down when using
moveTo()

this is really weird and i also think this haven't always been this way. at some point they had no problems climbing stairs down.
07-22-2010 12:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zervox Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: extended chr stairs
Do they have the same problem down a hill? or are you using waypoints?
07-23-2010 07:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
b1s Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: extended chr stairs
im using waypoints. we dont have much downhills. so its hard to test
first the stairs were had a ramp phys file and that had the same problem.
seems somehow that it cant walk over a ledge or something..
07-23-2010 08:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zervox Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: extended chr stairs
Hm, why not use the loop waypoint/waypoints the same way back?

also if you have a path map and its impassible it wont be able to go down the stairs.
(This post was last modified: 07-23-2010 11:04 AM by Zervox.)
07-23-2010 11:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
b1s Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: extended chr stairs
we are using the same waypoint loop. actionMoveTo is used with the waypoints.
for somereason as he returns the same path as he came up. he gets stuck getting down. no paths are used in anyway and they i think are not affecting in any way.
07-23-2010 11:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: extended chr stairs
actionMoveTo makes use of the path's set in the World Editor.
maybe you could try using actionMoveDir?

for more help I'd need to see your waypoints, path setup in World Editor.

but is the problem about finding path, or getting stuck?

does your character moves legs, like he is walking (but his position is the same), or he doesn't move legs and move at all?
07-23-2010 06:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
b1s Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: extended chr stairs
he tries to walk.. moves his legs. theres nothing in front of him
he can get the same spot upwards.
07-24-2010 03:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zervox Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: extended chr stairs
Sounds like a problem similar to what I had, was sometimes it entered a loop and wouldnt exit/move on, this was without waypoints though, also, you could do checks to see in which function the ai is running,
Code:
Str curActionRef;
switch(action)
{
case ACTION_MOVETO:
{
    curActionRef="Moving";
}break;
//more actions
}



in game::draw function do something like
Code:
REPA(AIs)
{
     AI  &ai  =AIs[i];    
    Vec2   screen=PosToScreen(ai.pos());
     D.text(screen,S+ai.CurActionRef);  
}
(This post was last modified: 07-24-2010 04:48 PM by Zervox.)
07-24-2010 04:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
b1s Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: extended chr stairs
well i can push him down the stairs.. i know the moveToDir would help but i rather would not change everything using that since we have had it working with moveTo before.
it really seems that the enemies have difficulties stepping down from a ledge.
if i push him down one stair.. he will walk to the ledge of that stair.. and get again stuck.
i was wondering if there were some changes in the chr slope behaviours because this could be the reason
(This post was last modified: 07-24-2010 07:52 PM by b1s.)
07-24-2010 07:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #10
RE: extended chr stairs
could you send me the *.phys file of the stairs (physical place where the problem occurs)
I'll verify what's the problem
07-25-2010 09:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
b1s Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: extended chr stairs
You can check from here:
http://b1s.viuhka.fi/upload/script/tiedo...Stairs.rar

Note that we have tried tons of different type of phys objects.
Ramp like etc.
In all of them actionMoveTo() went up but not down.

This started about a month ago or something . If its not some engine update then there some setting that we are using and didn't notice it does that.
(This post was last modified: 07-25-2010 10:35 AM by b1s.)
07-25-2010 10:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #12
RE: extended chr stairs
thanks, ill check this
07-25-2010 11:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
b1s Offline
Member

Post: #13
RE: extended chr stairs
any news on this?
its still bugging us big time.
we have tested the moveToDir and it did not help.
it always seems like when he is on the edge of a stair and starts to drop down.
it drops down very slowly.
i also tried if it was some sort of angular damping issue but no effect.
it just seems that it drops down slope very very slowly.
(This post was last modified: 07-29-2010 03:20 PM by b1s.)
07-29-2010 03:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #14
RE: extended chr stairs
could you let me know the exact 'scale' of the stairs mesh you use in the World Editor?
I've tested just moving around a player character on the stairs (run+walk)
and it seems to work fine, however I'm currently using slightly modified character controller sources (because I've made some changes recently, after the SDK update)
it's best if you could wait for next SDK release, so we'll have the same character controller version
07-29-2010 03:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
b1s Offline
Member

Post: #15
RE: extended chr stairs
the scale is 1. it has not been modified.
we also have run and walk working fine on the stairs on player.
its the automatic moving system that gives some problems.

its highly possible that the problem is caused by some setting that we have set somewhere.
just don't have a clue what could cause this.
(This post was last modified: 07-29-2010 03:29 PM by b1s.)
07-29-2010 03:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply