About Store Forum Documentation Contact

Is Esenthel the Right Engine?
runewake2 Offline

Is Esenthel the Right Engine?
I am a senior in high school and am taking an independent study in "Game Design". Myself and a few friends are planning on working on a parkour game based sometime during world war 2. The plan was to use Unity since I know how to use it and believe that I could get a good working game out in a few months but I have had second guesses and am wondering if it would be a better idea to use Esenthel.

The game is relatively simple involving a player who can run, walk, climb and a few other basic things in some German city. Would it be possible to use my knowledge of Unity and other languages in Esenthel to create a descent project in 9 weeks? I have limited knowledge of C++ but have done a lot of work in both Unity and Game Maker (Yes it's not great, but it's a better start than Alice).

Is a project of this kind a good place to start when beginning work in c++ or should I stick to Unity and Java?

Your help is appreciated.
11-05-2010 09:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
llynx Offline

RE: Is Esenthel the Right Engine?
Are you good at java/oo languages? If you are then you shouldn't have much trouble picking up esenthel in c++. If you've got the models and animations then it should be no problem in 9 weeks. But if you're going to be making the models/animations yourself then you'd have to substitute realism for functionality etc... But if you feel more comfortable with Unity, I'd stick with that as there is more documentation/resources for it.
11-06-2010 12:15 AM
runewake2 Offline

I was looking to move to Esenthel because it provides more power than Unity and is C++ rather than Java. I have two friends who are planning on working on the art, so that wouldn't be a problem.