About Store Forum Documentation Contact

New to C++, Some Questions before I start
runewake2 Offline

New to C++, Some Questions before I start
I am new to C++ and have a few questions about the basic syntax of the language.

1. struct : What is it, why do I need it, how do I know what to include in it?

2. Casting : In java I would just do something like (float)12.25 In C it is 12.5f ?

3. Doubles : Do they exist or are they all floats?

4. Classes : Are the c++ files I create the classes/objects or can I create multiple classes within one c++ file?

5. App Name : I can change the name of the App by simply using App.name("New Name");
If so what kind of performance effects does a name change have?

6. "../" : What does this mean? From what I understand it is go up one directory. Am I correct?

7. Assigning a Script to an Object : How is this done? Can I script trees to sway and if so can I attach the script to the tree in World Editor?

8. States : How do they work? If I move from Menu state to Game state and back to Menu will menu be the same as I left it?

9. At the end of struct's : Their is a label. For example, in 07 Game Menu tutorial their is mm, mo and so on. These may be referenced when creating a new object? so mm.create() creates a new object of mm?

10. So with some math functions : I can add any GUI object to a window I want? So for example window += slider; window += button; etc?

11. Positions : Positions of text drawn using D.text is drawn centered at position on screen using range of -1 to 1? If so how can I draw text at an exact pixel location? Do these reanges change if the user is using a different screen resolution (3:4,9:16,10:16)?

12. Render : Each Render step draws only that object? I need a Renderer for each object I want to draw?