About Store Forum Documentation Contact

Noob GUI question
dragonfly3 Offline

Noob GUI question
Is there any sort of tutorials for the GUI editor for noobs? I've never worked on GUI before and don't quite understand how the editor works and can't find any sort of tutorials or videos that show how to use it.

I understand how to create actual windows, buttons, sliders, etc. I just don't understand the graphics side of it; how to texturize them and make them into interesting shapes, etc.; how to implement graphics into them to make them look like the one on the esenthel tools page instead of just a basic window.
03-14-2011 05:40 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Dandruff Offline

RE: Noob GUI question
I had this question too when i first started. I basically messed around with the editor until i got the gist of it.

From what i understand, you just need to create your own nifty gui styles and use those styles for your gui objects, be it a window, button etc.

To find the gui style editor, click on the small button to the left of the data browser button. Once you click on that, a window will pop up and you will see a bunch of options you can modify. From there it will be pretty easy and once you're satisfied, save it. Now, whenever you make a new guiobj, you have an option to link it with your newly created gstl.
03-14-2011 06:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dragonfly3 Offline

does it allow the application of jpg images for texturing or does it work in the same way that objects do, where you have to apply materials? That's the part I'm confused about-how get the actual images, shapes, and textures like in these pictures:

http://www.esenthel.com/?id=tool/gui_editor
(click on the picture to enlarge it-the fancy gray box in the style editor with stone textureing and gems in the corners)

http://www.esenthel.com/?id=features
(the cool looking sci-fi style window next to the GUI section)