About Store Forum Documentation Contact

Getting stated with C++ help.
zomafish Offline

Getting stated with C++ help.
Hey guys im new here, going to buy a license in a few days once i get my credit card all set up. anyways im wondering where to start with c++ i am a graphic artist i want to learn c++, i know where to find alot of good tutorials but i have no idea how to set up my project and where to implement things like a day night cycle. (i did see the tutorial but i didn't see any real info for newbies as too where i can implement it)

thanks.
(This post was last modified: 04-15-2011 06:30 PM by zomafish.)
04-15-2011 06:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Truelegend Offline

RE: Getting stated with C++ help.
If you don't know c++. Dont start programming 3d games ...
First write little programs (console,later gui), later 2d and last 3d.

For help: Google (C++ Tutorials);
04-15-2011 06:49 PM
Chris Offline

(04-15-2011 06:49 PM)Truelegend Wrote:  If you don't know c++. Dont start programming 3d games ...

I disagree, if it's something you're interested, learning via games can be a stimulating way to do it. Compile each of the tutorials, and change bits of code and see what happens - you can always undo. It helps to understand basic programming concepts first though:

Data types: String, Int, Char
Operators
Loops: For, While
Conditions/arguments
Objects: Structs/Classes, Constructors, Methods/Functions
Using & continued learning through API's (e.g. Header Browser)
etc