About Store Forum Documentation Contact

interior lighting
ghreef Offline

interior lighting
Not sure what I'm missing, I'm new to lighting etc, but I've built a number of interiors which I can enter. Once inside, they are completely closed off from outside light. Unfortunately, the game is still rendering them as lit (as if from an unknown source). I imagine this is a result of some ambient light setting, but I can't seem to figure out how to change this in the code, especially so it applies only when inside interiors. I've checked all the tutorials and forum threads and haven't seen anything. Anyone have any guidance?

Thanks,
gh
06-16-2011 04:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Driklyn Offline

RE: interior lighting
Code:
D.ambColor(Vec(0));
Sun.light_color = Vec(1);

If you press F9 in World Editor, you can use the Ambient and Sun tabs to change these settings and see the effects in realtime within your world.

You're probably going to want/need to have some ambient lighting.
(This post was last modified: 06-17-2011 01:20 AM by Driklyn.)
06-17-2011 01:18 AM
ghreef Offline

F9 only affects the world editor environment. I was really looking to set up each world to have different lighting etc.. (eg: an underground world would have 0 ambient lighting, 0 sun, 0 horizon etc, and all be light by in-cave/tunnel lighting like torches) then outside worlds would have all the details like a sun, horizon, clouds etc...
06-20-2011 06:47 PM
Dampire Offline

You may create volumes - physics actors with disabled collision. If player in volume - set another D.ambPower (or color), else - default. Many engines uses same tech.
06-22-2011 08:39 AM
ghreef Offline

Thanks dampire. I think this is the approach for me. I'll be playing around with it today.

Thanks!
06-23-2011 12:07 PM
ghreef Offline