About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
[SOLVED] Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
Author Message
Arrested Offline
Member

Post: #1
[SOLVED] Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
Hi,

I'm evaluating using Esenthel as a dev platform for mobile; and thought I would test by using the RTS; I bought it, followed instructions (minus the physx dll's..) and tried to figure out how to compile the thing.

I am used to Xcode; so please forgive my ignorance. When I attempted to follow the directions, I could not find a place in the editor to compile it.

Also; world editor keeps crashing on me.

Running Xcode 4.6 on MacOS X Mountain Lion

Thanks!
(This post was last modified: 02-26-2013 12:46 PM by Arrested.)
02-20-2013 02:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #2
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
Hello!

Quote:I am used to Xcode; so please forgive my ignorance. When I attempted to follow the directions, I could not find a place in the editor to compile it.
You need to open the esproj from Esenthel Editor 1.0, go to Code Editor, and right click on app, select export to Xcode compatible C++
In Xcode open Tutorials project from SDK, and in Xcode replace all default CPP files with the ones generated by the Code Editor.

Next SDK (both EE 1.0 and 2.0) will support automatic app building from the Code Editor for Mac/iOS/Android on Mac, so it will be much easier.

Quote:Running Xcode 4.6 on MacOS X Mountain Lion
there was a bug in Mac OS system, please update it to latest version (10.8.2).

If crash still occurs, please attach the crash report.
02-20-2013 01:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Arrested Offline
Member

Post: #3
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
Quote:You need to open the esproj from Esenthel Editor 1.0, go to Code Editor, and right click on app, select export to Xcode compatible C++
In Xcode open Tutorials project from SDK, and in Xcode replace all default CPP files with the ones generated by the Code Editor.


I followed this - stdafx.h threw some errors claiming there was already a file by this name, so I put the contents into stdafx.cpp

Quote:there was a bug in Mac OS system, please update it to latest version (10.8.2).

I keep everything up to date; this is running 10.8.2 Build 12C60

Quote:If crash still occurs, please attach the crash report.


Once we get through this set of issues, I will be happy to.

See attached for the latest problems.


Attached File(s) Image(s)
       
02-20-2013 04:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #4
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
Hi,

In next couple days I'll release new SDK that supports automatic building of apps under Mac Code Editor.
02-20-2013 07:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #5
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
Hi,

I've just uploaded latest SDK and updated ERTS source code.

Please re-download both packages, follow instructions on ERTS installation from Esethel Store.
Now Mac's Code Editor supports automatic app building, so from the Code Editor just open the esproj file, select Mac APP compilation target, and press Play, I've tested it and it builds/runs just fine.

Also if you want to evaluate the engine, I recommend doing that with Esenthel 2.0 because it's much easier to use. (It doesn't however have the ERTS package ported for 2.0 yet, but will be soon)
02-21-2013 03:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Arrested Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
That erts package was a big reason I want to eval this engine.. so if i start hacking away at it, and make changes, will they port directly to 2.0?


and thank you smile
02-21-2013 05:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #7
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
Hi, yes you can make changes, once I will add support for ImageAtlas in EE 2.0 you will be able to import your project to 2.0 engine.

After importing to 2.0 you will need however to adjust paths to elements in the c++ codes from filename to resource ID.
for example,
instead of ImagePtr image="file.gfx"
2.0 has ImagePtr image=UID(..);
02-21-2013 05:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Arrested Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
so - i finally got to test it; the compile works - awesome - I did run onto this:

Process: Esenthel RTS [535]
Path: /Users/USER/Desktop/*/Esenthel RTS.app/Contents/MacOS/Esenthel RTS
Identifier: com.esenthel.rts
Version: 1.0 (2)
Code Type: X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [130]
User ID: 501

Date/Time: 2013-02-21 17:30:27.150 -0800
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.8.2 (12C60)
Report Version: 10

Interval Since Last Report: 163838 sec
Crashes Since Last Report: 10
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 2
Anonymous UUID: 909639FC-1D19-0DB4-CC29-6A0EBE454542

Crashed Thread: 0

Exception Type: EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000

Application Specific Information:
dyld: launch, loading dependent libraries

Dyld Error Message:
Library not loaded: @executable_path/../Library/Frameworks/Cg.framework/Cg
Referenced from: /Users/USER/Desktop/*/Esenthel RTS.app/Contents/MacOS/Esenthel RTS
Reason: image not found

Binary Images:
0x100000000 - 0x1004beff7 +com.esenthel.rts (1.0 - 2) <996F85A1-5A86-304E-8D9D-68052155E450> /Users/USER/Desktop/*/Esenthel RTS.app/Contents/MacOS/Esenthel RTS
0x1006cc000 - 0x1006f7fff com.apple.audio.OpenAL (1.6 - 1.6) <0FBA7491-B817-39EE-8898-FF88C9485B50> /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenAL.framework/Versions/A/OpenAL
0x7fff6f432000 - 0x7fff6f46693f dyld (210.2.3) <A40597AA-5529-3337-8C09-D8A014EB1578> /usr/lib/dyld
0x7fff8b8e6000 - 0x7fff8b8f5ff7 com.apple.opengl (1.8.6 - 1.8.6) <720CC06C-0D01-37AE-BB3D-D7F0242B262A> /System/Library/Frameworks/OpenGL.framework/Versions/A/OpenGL
0x7fff8f186000 - 0x7fff8f186fff com.apple.Carbon (154 - 155) <372716D2-6FA1-3611-8501-3DD1D4A6E8C8> /System/Library/Frameworks/Carbon.framework/Versions/A/Carbon
0x7fff9645f000 - 0x7fff9645ffff com.apple.Cocoa (6.7 - 19) <1F77945C-F37A-3171-B22E-F7AB0FCBB4D4> /System/Library/Frameworks/Cocoa.framework/Versions/A/Cocoa
0x7fff966b6000 - 0x7fff96707ff7 com.apple.SystemConfiguration (1.12.2 - 1.12.2) <E095637C-457F-3D8F-AE32-A032F9D5A46C> /System/Library/Frameworks/SystemConfiguration.framework/Versions/A/SystemConfiguration

Model: MacBookPro8,2, BootROM MBP81.0047.B27, 4 processors, Intel Core i7, 2 GHz, 8 GB, SMC 1.69f4
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Built-In, 512 MB
Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6490M, AMD Radeon HD 6490M, PCIe, 256 MB
Memory Module: BANK 0/DIMM0, 4 GB, DDR3, 1333 MHz, 0x80CE, 0x4D34373142353237334448302D4348392020
Memory Module: BANK 1/DIMM0, 4 GB, DDR3, 1333 MHz, 0x80CE, 0x4D34373142353237334448302D4348392020
AirPort: spairport_wireless_card_type_airport_extreme (0x14E4, 0xD6), Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.106.98.81.22)
Bluetooth: Version 4.0.9f33 10885, 2 service, 11 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
Network Service: Wi-Fi, AirPort, en1
Serial ATA Device: Hitachi HTS545032B9A300, 320.07 GB
Serial ATA Device: MATSHITADVD-R UJ-898
USB Device: FaceTime HD Camera (Built-in), apple_vendor_id, 0x8509, 0xfa200000 / 3
USB Device: hub_device, 0x0424 (SMSC), 0x2513, 0xfa100000 / 2
USB Device: Logitech USB Headset, 0x046d (Logitech Inc.), 0x0a44, 0xfa130000 / 7
USB Device: BRCM2070 Hub, 0x0a5c (Broadcom Corp.), 0x4500, 0xfa110000 / 5
USB Device: Bluetooth USB Host Controller, apple_vendor_id, 0x821a, 0xfa113000 / 6
USB Device: Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad, apple_vendor_id, 0x0245, 0xfa120000 / 4
USB Device: hub_device, 0x0424 (SMSC), 0x2513, 0xfd100000 / 2
USB Device: iPhone, apple_vendor_id, 0x129c, 0xfd120000 / 4
USB Device: IR Receiver, apple_vendor_id, 0x8242, 0xfd110000 / 3
02-22-2013 02:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #9
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
Hi,

I don't see any callstack so I don't see where does the crash occur.
The only error that I see is
Quote:Dyld Error Message:
Library not loaded: @executable_path/../Library/Frameworks/Cg.framework/Cg
Referenced from: /Users/USER/Desktop/*/Esenthel RTS.app/Contents/MacOS/Esenthel RTS
Reason: image not found
Can you make sure the CG framework is properly located in Esenthel SDK in Path "Installation/CG"
Don't use Autopudate, it does not work properly yet with symbolic links, I am working on it.
Try to replace the CG folder from SDK ZIP file, into your SDK installation folder.
02-22-2013 11:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Arrested Offline
Member

Post: #10
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
This is what I have for the CG path:

$ ls
Cg Headers Resources Versions
Ricks-MacBook-Pro:Cg.framework rcollette$ pwd
/Users/USER/Desktop/SUBFOLDER/Esenthel/EsenthelEngineSDK/Installation/Cg.framework
$

Is this case sensitive? I actually tried copying the real files from the Versions dir jst in case there was some magic reason following symlinks was not working - still the same thing

"Library not loaded: @executable_path/../Library/Frameworks/Cg.framework/Cg"


this "/../Library/Frameworks/Cg.framework/Cg" does not jive with the filesystem path, is this some kind of internal pathing?
02-22-2013 04:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #11
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
Can you tell me if you've used Autoupdate or did you make a clean extraction from the zip archive? (please try using 2nd version)

Is anyone else on Mac having similar problems with running apps in debug mode?

Just tried:
download latest Mac SDK 1.0
Open Editor, set path to RTS/Data
open rts esproj file
set Mac App configuration
Press F5 build app and play it - success.

You can also set F8 to open the project in Xcode
02-22-2013 04:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Arrested Offline
Member

Post: #12
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
(02-22-2013 04:19 PM)Esenthel Wrote:  Can you tell me if you've used Autoupdate or did you make a clean extraction from the zip archive? (please try using 2nd version)

This has been clean extractions - using what is in the download area as of yesterday.

To be clear:

ERTS:
http://www.esenthel.com/download.php?dc=...x4j9j7h0o9
http://www.esenthel.com/download.php?dc=...z4w9w7n0y9

ESDK:
http://www.esenthel.com/download.php?dc=...h4e9u7u0q9
(This post was last modified: 02-23-2013 09:03 PM by Arrested.)
02-23-2013 09:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #13
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
You could try installing Nvidia CG from this link http://www.esenthel.com/download/Librari...ry2010.dmg
But I'm not sure if that would help.

Explanation:
Esenthel projects in debug mode link to Nvidia CG library to allow for custom shader compilation.
This CG framework I am including in the Esenthel SDK. ("SDK/Installation/Cg" folder)
When you open Code Editor and the RTS project, hit F8 (or menu "open in xcode"), there in the xcode project settings you can investigate that the project links to CG framework.

What you could try:
-update xcode to latest version
-remove the CG framework from xcode project settings

This is some sort of xcode linking problem issue
02-23-2013 10:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Arrested Offline
Member

Post: #14
RE: Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
ok - i changed the search patch for libs to the root of the erts, then I made it recurse.

works now, thank you!
02-23-2013 11:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #15
RE: [SOLVED] Esenthel RTS Mac OSX Mountain Lion
Could you tell me which setting exactly did you change and to what value?
I'm trying to make it work through configuring search paths in xcode project settings, earlier it worked for me because I had CG framework installed from nvidia installer, but now I uninstalled it, and I'm trying to link it to the CG from the EE folder.
I've tried setting Library/Framework/Runpath search paths to multiple values, but without success.
03-17-2013 09:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply