About Store Forum Documentation Contact

Character movement issue
Morgoth Offline

Character movement issue
Hi,

I'm new to this engine and just started learning the basics.
However I was playing around a little with the basic "Esenthel MMO" source code from the store and stumbled upon an issue which I cannot solve at my current level.

Basically I want to achieve a character movement that fullfills 3 points:

1. Char should never slide when not moving.
2. Char should immediately stop movement when arriving at the given coordinate without sliding over the target position especially at high speed
3. Char should be on the ground (nearly) all the time even if character speed is high and moving through a mountain area.
-> If a character has a high speed, it will start to "run through the air" when quickly walking around in a mountain area (seems to happen mostly after or while the character is turning to a new direction) or when running down a mountain.

To point 1)

I could accomplish point 1 by creating physics with "CSS_FREEZE_XZ", which worked fairly well.

To point 2)

This could be accomplished by taking out "AdjustValDir"s in Chr::UpdateMoveDir and Chr::StopDirInput and setting the target values directly.

To point 3)

This is where the issues start:
To prevent the char from "flying" or rather "running through the air" I first tried increasing the overall gravity and second only the mass of the actor.

a) Issues when increasing the gravity:

+ Char better sticks to the ground
- Char suddenly starts to slide while not moving on some parts of the terrain even if the slope is very low. Strangly it doesn't slide on high slopes on a mountain side. Setting high values for physical material friction also doesn't prevent this from happening.
- After arriving at the destination position the char sometimes issues a "jump" once or the camera is starting to shake

b) Issues when increasing only the player actor mass