About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
Create character with multiple models
Author Message
Lancer Offline
Member

Post: #1
Create character with multiple models
Hey,

my question basically is like this one https://answers.unity.com/questions/3073...acter.html

I have multiple models with which I want to create one character.
How is that possible? Also, each model should be able to be replaced while playing.
01-09-2020 10:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zervox Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Create character with multiple models
pretty sure armor rendering covers this part for you. smile

Apps -> 13 - Mesh -> Armor Rendering

you can also look at

Apps -> 13 - Mesh -> Mesh Part Draw Group
(This post was last modified: 01-09-2020 06:13 PM by Zervox.)
01-09-2020 06:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RedcrowProd Offline
Bronze Supporter

Post: #3
RE: Create character with multiple models
Yes check the tutorial, id add that you could have them in separated group ( up to 32 if memory serves ) and draw the one you want else you can manually split them up in EE editor
01-09-2020 10:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Lancer Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Create character with multiple models
(01-09-2020 06:01 PM)Zervox Wrote:  pretty sure armor rendering covers this part for you. smile

Apps -> 13 - Mesh -> Armor Rendering

you can also look at

Apps -> 13 - Mesh -> Mesh Part Draw Group

Armor rendering won't help, it requires a default body, which we dont have.
Mesh part won't help, because we need skeleton too from the models.

Basically, I have 3 models (head, upper-body & lower-body). How can I combine all 3 models, to make one character with skeleton so the animations will work.
01-09-2020 10:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zervox Offline
Member

Post: #5
RE: Create character with multiple models
(01-09-2020 10:08 PM)Lancer Wrote:  
(01-09-2020 06:01 PM)Zervox Wrote:  ...

Armor rendering won't help, it requires a default body, which we dont have.
Mesh part won't help, because we need skeleton too from the models.

Basically, I have 3 models (head, upper-body & lower-body). How can I combine all 3 models, to make one character with skeleton so the animations will work.

Wouldn't that simply require you to treat body parts as armor pieces though?

you import a skeleton and import bodyparts similarly to how you would armor pieces.

That should work just fine as far as I am concernced from a logical standpoint, to my knowledge it also wouldn't need body parts draw group swapping.

Edit: To clarify, you can see in armor rendering tutorial that there are skinning data for the boot model(note the knee piece bending when the player skeleton is bending the knee, so there should be no issues doing it as I said regarding using the armor rendering as a guideline on where to start.
(This post was last modified: 01-11-2020 04:54 AM by Zervox.)
01-10-2020 01:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #6
RE: Create character with multiple models
You can either make a skeleton in a standalone 3rd party tool, Maya,Max,Blender.
Or in Esenthel, go to "Bones", "copy to memory", "paste/add from memory"
01-10-2020 04:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Lancer Offline
Member

Post: #7
RE: Create character with multiple models
Hi,

ok so I looked into the Mesh -> Armor Rendering Guide and I did the following.
Full skeleton on all meshes.
https://imgur.com/a/OfQvgjy

But the animation looks like this (hand and feet are messed)
https://streamable.com/l0hsd

Code:
Code:
void Create()
{
    // load mesh
    m_pMeshHair = ObjectPtr(UID(1801528809, 1161870081, 3205118884, 2355545589))->mesh();
    m_pMeshFace = ObjectPtr(UID(1687068418, 1162188778, 2232741537, 3426716227))->mesh();
    m_pMeshBody = ObjectPtr(UID(568460132, 1229789664, 3441282223, 1487839063))->mesh();
    m_pMeshHands = ObjectPtr(UID(4026311094, 1084774809, 3860310170, 4101844436))->mesh();
    m_pMeshFeet = ObjectPtr(UID(19292815, 1330452916, 3492163974, 3767608930))->mesh();

    // create skeleton
    m_skel.create(m_pMeshBody->skeleton());
}

UInt drawPrepare()
{
    if (m_pMeshFeet)m_pMeshFeet->draw(m_skel);
    if (m_pMeshHair)m_pMeshHair->draw(m_skel);
    if (m_pMeshFace)m_pMeshFace->draw(m_skel);
    if (m_pMeshBody)m_pMeshBody->draw(m_skel);
    if (m_pMeshHands)m_pMeshHands->draw(m_skel);

    return 0;
}

void Update()
{
    m_skel.updateBegin(); // begin update
    m_skel.clear();       // clear skeleton animation
    m_skel.animate(m_uidAnimation, Time.time()); // animate animation and current time position
    m_skel.updateMatrix(); // update skeleton animation matrixes
    m_skel.updateEnd(); // end update
}

What can I do?

https://streamable.com/l4xqa this happens, if I only put the feet to the animation file
02-11-2020 08:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #8
RE: Create character with multiple models
They need to have the same skeleton.
And set "Body" for the all cloth/sub meshes to point to the main body mesh (with main skeleton).
Object Editor "Body" tab, then drag and drop main body object on the viewport.
02-12-2020 08:18 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Lancer Offline
Member

Post: #9
RE: Create character with multiple models
At main body I went to bones and "Copy to Memory" and at the body parts I set "replace from memory".
I also did "set body" on all body parts.
But this didn't change anything.
02-12-2020 12:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RedcrowProd Offline
Bronze Supporter

Post: #10
RE: Create character with multiple models
Bones needs to match animation as well theres def. Something set wrong in your files smile
02-12-2020 06:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Lancer Offline
Member

Post: #11
RE: Create character with multiple models
That's weird.

I have one .max file which has animation, head, body, hands and feet.
The animation works fine when I export all at once.
But I need all (head, body, hands and feet) seperate. So I exported them one by one.

I figured out, I made a mistake while exporting the models.
Now it works fine. Thanks
(This post was last modified: 02-12-2020 07:46 PM by Lancer.)
02-12-2020 07:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply