About Store Forum Documentation Contact



Post Reply 
World Compile Freezes
Author Message
toxicclowd Offline
Member

Post: #1
World Compile Freezes
Hey folks,

I'm really new to the Esenthel Engine. I'm primarily an artist and thus have been spending a lot of time getting to know the world editor, it's probably one of the coolest editors i've ever used, it lets me develop worlds really quickly and they look good. The only problem is that when i go to try to build the map, it freezes up as soon as i start it. The problem seems to occur more on the bigger maps but also occurs on tiny ones about 50% of the time. Larges maps never compile. I'm running:

Vista Ultimate x64
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2.2Ghz per core
3GB DDR2 RAM @ 533Mhz
Visiontek ATI HD4850 512MB DDR3
500GB 7200RPM Seagate HDD 18GB Free (C:\)
250GB 5400RPM (? Brand) HDD 137GB Free (G:\)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 SE

Not sure if this could cause a problem but it does with some other applications, but i also have a Wacom Graphire 2 Graphics tablet installed.

Any help would be appreciated, please ask if you need anymore information and i'll do my best to provide it.


Thanks guys,

James
07-14-2009 05:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #2
Re: World Compile Freezes
please make sure to use the latest graphics drivers
after you have them let me know what's their version

if that wont help then please remove your tablet, reboot computer and start world editor and compile the map once again (with the tablet removed)
you can also try uninstalling the tablet drivers (if you know that it causes the problems)
it is just for testing to know that the tablet may or may not be the cause of error.
07-14-2009 11:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hew Offline
Member

Post: #3
Re: World Compile Freezes
I have the same problem. Building the world causes the world editor freeze.

Vista x64
Intel i7 core
4GB ram
ati 4850
07-15-2009 11:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #4
Re: World Compile Freezes
hi, thanks for the info, could you let me know if you have the latest graphics drivers?
if so, then what version do you have?
07-16-2009 12:16 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hew Offline
Member

Post: #5
Re: World Compile Freezes
I have the latest version 9.6.
07-16-2009 12:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #6
Re: World Compile Freezes
thanks, later today I think ill be uploading the next engine version.
ill also upload a debug world editor.exe to see if with some features off the building will go ok.
07-16-2009 11:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #7
Re: World Compile Freezes
the new version will be tomorrow, I finished what I wanted to implement but still need to test it.
as for the error, does it appear during the option "Build" or "Play" (or both) ?
07-16-2009 10:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hew Offline
Member

Post: #8
Re: World Compile Freezes
When it tries to build on Play & Build, I sometimes see an faint window in the background that I believe says generating I can't really make it out. The Game\Area folder has about 9 to 12 files with only 1 to 3 files having a 5 KB size and the others with the size of 0 KB.

I get 1 square to build all the time but more than one square freezes. And if I have more than three or four it has freezed everytime that I tested today with just the heightmap and nothing else added.
07-17-2009 12:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #9
Re: World Compile Freezes
thanks very much for the info.

if 1 area square builds all the time, and multiple not always then it means it must be some sort of multithreading issue.

because the world building is done in multithreaded mode, where each area is simultaneously processed by a separate thread.

today ill try to upload a debug world editor, buldding the world on a single thread only. we'll see if that will help.
07-17-2009 11:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #10
Re: World Compile Freezes
hi, im uploading two test world editors.
please copy them to the tools folder
could you check both of them in the following way:
-run the tool
-place 4x4 heightmaps
-select menu "build\all"

let me know if they freeze too, thanks
07-17-2009 04:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
toxicclowd Offline
Member

Post: #11
Re: World Compile Freezes
Sorry, for taking so long, been really busy, but looks like hew pretty much has things under control here. I also have the 9.6 drivers. I will try the new editors when i get home from work, thanks.
07-17-2009 05:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hew Offline
Member

Post: #12
Re: World Compile Freezes
world editor safe & single thread builds 4x4 successfully and I also created a flat terrain that was lager than the 9x9 visable square successfully .

I noticed that the terrain doesn't show when using play unless a material is added which is a different from the old editor.
07-17-2009 05:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #13
Re: World Compile Freezes
thanks for the testing, it'll make easier for me to solve the problem.

Quote:I noticed that the terrain doesn't show when using play unless a material is added which is a different from the old editor.
yes, it is now the way it should be. because thanks to this you can make holes in the terrain by applying NULL material.
07-17-2009 05:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #14
Re: World Compile Freezes
can you perform a test on the normal World Editor (not safe/single tread versions)
by creating 8x8 heightmaps
select the checkbox in the "brush parameters" window (to make the brush size dependent on the camera distance)
zoom out so that the brush will cover all areas.
and then just paint using different materials so they keep on changing? for 1-2 minutes

so only editing 8x8 area materials at one time (without building)
07-17-2009 06:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Online
Administrator

Post: #15
Re: World Compile Freezes
ok, I'm uploading another World Editor test version (this one is multithreaded)

could you let me know like in previous tests does it properly "Build" worlds which have multiple areas?

thanks
07-17-2009 06:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply