About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
178$/mo



Post Reply 
Can't move on some areas.
Author Message
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #1
Can't move on some areas.
Few years ago I wrote about an issue when player can't move and jump on some areas. Animation was playing but player and other characters who are in this area stay in place. Now when I tested game, other users have this issue again. Today I reconstruct this error on my computer and this is what I found:

- this issue happens in random situations and random places (probably places change after recompile the project but I'm not sure)
- when I command player to fly, he can flew away and sometimes player can't move on areas with problem and sometimes can
- players and charaters _on_ground variable is set to false and I can't do anything with it (I didn't fly before)

I'm writing this because I don't see that normal user has ability to change _on_ground variable except flying and I didn't fly before this issue happened.
(This post was last modified: 09-10-2011 11:02 AM by Harry.)
09-09-2011 02:06 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #2
RE: Can't move on some areas.
Here is video which shows how it's look. I found some other things:

- it happens not only on heightmaps (I fly on roof and can't move) so not as I previous thought
- it looks like game treats players like there are in air (_time_in_air variale changes too)

http://www.sendspace.com/file/shh2l2

Here is only codes when I use ctrl.onGround()
Code:
if(!ctrl.onGround() && !ctrl.flying())
{
    fallVelocity=ctrl.actor.vel().length();
    falling=true;
}else if (ctrl.onGround() && falling)
{
    falling=false;
      
    if(fallVelocity>=7)
    {
        addDamage(fallVelocity*6.5f,this);
        QuakeFx.addShort();
        if(View==VIEW_FPP)damage_time=1;
        if(health<=0)die();
    }
}

Could someone help me?
(This post was last modified: 09-10-2011 11:02 AM by Harry.)
09-10-2011 11:01 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #3
RE: Can't move on some areas.
maybe it's some kind of issue of detecting if character is on ground.
I'd need to have your world (specifically the location of the error)
I'm most interested in physical body of the heightmap
and you can send me your character phys body or mesh if you don't use phys body (I need dimensions of the player capsule)
09-10-2011 11:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Can't move on some areas.
Hi, I wanna ask do you found something in files which I sent you because I want upload soon new Forest Velley version and this is the last most important issue to fix.
09-14-2011 01:08 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #5
RE: Can't move on some areas.
Hi, I have received the files, but I didn't have the time yet to look into them
09-14-2011 02:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Can't move on some areas.
Ok, thanks for answer.
(This post was last modified: 09-14-2011 03:10 PM by Harry.)
09-14-2011 03:06 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #7
RE: Can't move on some areas.
Hi, sorry that I'm asking, but could you send me the full game data?
I can't reproduce the error without materials, world objects, and characters.
09-16-2011 05:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Harry Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: Can't move on some areas.
Ok I'll try upload it but not today because I have slow upload transfer and it takes about 4-5 hours (and I'll try prepare save game with this issue).

EDIT: When I load game player can move even if he can't before loading. It's really hard to find - my brother plays over 10 minutes to find it.
09-16-2011 06:19 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #9
RE: Can't move on some areas.
I still can't reproduce the error in the world editor.
maybe it's a bug in your codes?
09-18-2011 02:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply