About Store Forum Documentation Contact
Donations:
243$/mo



Post Reply 
Issue with carrying over data to another PC
Author Message
GokUsama Offline
Member

Post: #1
Issue with carrying over data to another PC
Hello,
So recently I got a new PC and I wanted to shift over my esenthel work onto the new PC now. However I am having issues when logging into the esenthel server where all of our world data, assets etc are saved.
The textures and other assets are not loading properly and I am getting the red "!". I initially thought it must just be the data slowly loading onto my new PC, so I decided to wait a few hours and see if the issue goes away.
After a few hours I still had the same issue.
Not sure what's the reason behind all this as everything works fine on my old PC and the worlds/textures/models etc load in properly.
Any sort of help would be appreciated, thanks in advance!

Edit: https://imgur.com/5e49dth, https://imgur.com/VT4uf9z - So as you can see in the first image that I receive the data for a while and then as shown in the second image I stop receiving data as it's on 0,0 kbp/s
(This post was last modified: 12-23-2019 12:49 PM by GokUsama.)
12-23-2019 12:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RedcrowProd Online
Bronze Supporter

Post: #2
RE: Issue with carrying over data to another PC
i believe the server mode is not 100% ? but it should work fine with assets ?

it is best to transfer project using the esenthel project saver with the tool in the editor.

at least that should get you going for now smile
(This post was last modified: 12-23-2019 01:56 PM by RedcrowProd.)
12-23-2019 01:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #3
RE: Issue with carrying over data to another PC
Hello,

Esenthel Server should work OK for all projects and element types.
I've just found some issue with synchronization process to which I've uploaded a fix, so please update the engine. However this issue seems unrelated to your problem.

How much data from your project was transferred successfully? More or less how many % of 3d objects and textures are OK?

You could check if you have any anti-virus / firewall that could be blocking connection.
I've just made a test syncing a medium project from windows laptop to macbook, and all worked fine.
12-23-2019 04:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
GokUsama Offline
Member

Post: #4
RE: Issue with carrying over data to another PC
Hello,
Thanks for the help smile managed to fix that issue. However now I am having another issue where the textures are loading very weird on the models and on the terrain as you can see here. https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/5...nknown.png
Could it be an issue with my gpu because I recently built my pc from scratch. I even installed the latest gpu driver.

Edit: here is another example of how the textures look like even on one of the sample projects. https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/5...nknown.png
(This post was last modified: 12-29-2019 09:03 PM by GokUsama.)
12-29-2019 06:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #5
RE: Issue with carrying over data to another PC
Yes this looks like a GPU/driver bug.
You could try using forward renderer, but not sure if it would help.
12-30-2019 04:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
GokUsama Offline
Member

Post: #6
RE: Issue with carrying over data to another PC
So I tried uninstalling the GPU driver and then reinstalling it properly again and I am still not seeing any improvement sadly :(
These are my GPU specs:
- GeForce RTX 2070
- Driver Version 441.66
I pretty much tried everything that could to do with installing driver, yet I still see my textures, shadows on terrain, models etc in esenthel messed up.
https://media.discordapp.net/attachments...nknown.png
https://media.discordapp.net/attachments...height=702

EDIT: I noticed that the shading issue is happening when the sun is turned on but when it is turned off then the terrain looks normal because all the shadows are gone.
(This post was last modified: 12-30-2019 05:17 PM by GokUsama.)
12-30-2019 03:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Esenthel Offline
Administrator

Post: #7
RE: Issue with carrying over data to another PC
Is this only about shadows?
Does disabling shadows in the Editor F12 menu (Video Options) make all work ok?
12-31-2019 05:13 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
GokUsama Offline
Member

Post: #8
RE: Issue with carrying over data to another PC
Nope that's what i initially thought but its still messed up, however when I enable environment it becomes better. As you can see below.
Without Environment:
https://media.discordapp.net/attachments...height=677

With Environment:
https://media.discordapp.net/attachments...height=677

I am not sure what's happening anymore...
12-31-2019 06:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply